Photo project: painting with light

 

For this week of Jen’s and my photo project I was inspired by some of Jen’s previous themes: windows, glass and light and how one object can turn into something completely different depending on how you play with light, sharpness etc.

I have always been fascinating by the sunlight through my bathroom window. It’s something I notice everytime I take a shower! The window glass has a ”wiggly” structure to it so that it lets in light but you can’t look through it. A very convenient structure for a bathroom window. 😉 So when the sunlight hits the window it creates some really cool effects. And when I got really close with the camera I got different colour and light effect  depending on how I angled the camera.  This first set of two illustrates that. All I did here was to turn up the saturation a bit.

I also noticed as I played around with depth of field and angles that the window texture could give impressions of being something else. In these two I got a feeling of ripply water catching the last rays of the setting sun.

For the last two I used my biggest aperture, 1.4, and close to maximum shallow depth of field to really get the bokeh going, and got these effects. I get the feeling of smoke and fire or a coppery surface.

I find it really cool how a sunlit structured bathroom window can make me think of smoke and fire, copper and sunlit water.

What do you think? What do you see?

Don’t miss Jen’s photos! I don’t know when they will be up so be sure to check her blog out so that you don’t miss them.

4 thoughts on “Photo project: painting with light

Kommentera

